Skip to main content

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)


  

 

NVUSD’s vision is to transform lives by instilling and inspiring lifelong learning in every student.

 

NVUSD-AVID double arrow

 

AVID's mission is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

   

AVID trains educators to use proven practices in order to prepare students for success in high school, college, and a career -- especially students traditionally underrepresented in higher education.

 

left quotes

The role of INSTRUCTION is to make a DIFFERENCE for KIDS.

The role of WICOR is to give teachers STRATEGIES to help reach KIDS.

 

right quotes


AVID Elementary

AVID Elementary is a foundational component of the AVID College Readiness System, and supports AVID's mission to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

AVID Elementary is designed to be embedded into the daily instruction of all elementary classrooms across entire grade levels to maintain schoolwide structures.

AVID Elementary's implementation resources, professional development, and philosophy are all grounded in the idea that the growth mindset can be taught to students, and it is through the growth mindset that AVID students succeed in following their dreams and fulfilling their aspirations.

Components of AVID Elementary

During each stage of learning, AVID Elementary incorporates:

Student Success Skills
Encompassing communication skills (e.g. listening, speaking, writing), self-advocacy skills, and study skills.

Organizational Skills
Both mental and physical; students are given organizational tools, as well as time management, goal-setting, and note-taking strategies.

WICOR Lessons and L-WICOR Lessons
Emphasize instruction on writing to learn, inquiry, collaboration, organization and reading to learn in all content areas

Partnerships 
Among students, classrooms, grade levels, schools, feeder patterns, families and communities.


 


AVID Elective

The AVID Elective is the core of AVID Secondary. It targets students in the academic middle with the desire to go to college and the willingness to work hard. Often, AVID Elective students will be the first in their families to attend college, and come from groups traditionally underrepresented in higher education. These are students who are capable of completing rigorous curriculum with the support of the AVID Elective class.

The AVID Elective class places these students on the college track, requiring students to enroll in the most rigorous courses that are appropriate for them, such as Honors and Advanced Placement®. To support them in the rigorous coursework, AVID students learn organizational and study skills, develop critical thinking, learn to ask probing questions, receive academic help from peers and college tutors, and participate in enrichment and motivational activities to make their college dreams reality.

typical week in AVID class


 


AVID Schoolwide

AVID is school-wide when a strong AVID system transforms the Instruction, Systems, Leadership, and Culture of a school, ensuring college readiness for all AVID Elective students and improved academic performance for all students based on increased opportunities.

The AVID program has a clear framework of instructional strategies designed to support student academic growth across all content areas. WICOR is AVIDs foundation for high engagement teaching and learning.  This acronym stands for Writing, Inquiry, Collaboration, Organization, and Reading.  

WICOR provides a model that educators can use to scaffold learning, guide students to comprehend material and support articulating ideas at increasingly complex levels.  WICOR is not intended to change the curriculum, but rather to allow all students to have access to rigorous curriculum.


 


AVID Excel

AVID Excel’s mission is to change the trajectory of long-term English language learners by accelerating language acquisition, developing literacy, and placing AVID Excel students on the path to high school AVID and college preparatory coursework. AVID Excel is designed to prepare 7th and 8th grade students to enter 9th grade with the language skills that will enable them to succeed in rigorous coursework.


Paid AVID Tutor Positions are Available!

  • Flexible Hours at Napa High, Vintage High, American Canyon High
  • Must have high school education AND proof of current college enrollment
  • Duties include
    • Facilitate collaborative tutorial groups

    • Support students in understanding complex concepts

    • Reinforce learning from all classes and subjects

    • Assist in AVID Classrooms

    • Set an example of personal excellence & high expectation

    • Complete job description

See flyer

Apply at www.edjoin.org/nvusd

More information


 


Professional Learning Opportunities

NVUSD Schoolwide WICOR Workshops

AVID Summer Institute

AVID Regional Path to Schoolwide Training


 


   

What is WICOR?

Click on each letter for resources and information.

WICOR Overview

 

WICOR

Contacts and Support
District Elementary Schools Middle Schools High Schools

Annie Petrie
AVID District Director
(707) 253-3815
apetrie@nvusd.org

McPherson
Molly McClurg
Coordinator
mmclurg@nvusd.org

American Canyon
Ana Castro
Coordinator
alcastro@nvusd.org

American Canyon
Tricia Hernandez
Coordinator
tricia_hernandez@nvusd.org
 

Sarah Knox
AVID Co-District Director
(707) 253-3715
sknox@nvusd.org

Northwood
Barb Corna
Coordinator
bcorna@nvusd.org

Harvest
Aine Pridy
Coordinator
apridy@nvusd.org
 

Napa
Martha Calderon
Brian King
Coordinators
mcalderon@nvusd.org
bking@nvusd.org

 

Marianna Thorne
Senior Administrative Specialist
707-253-3815 ext. 4842
ShoreTel 301-4842
mthorne@nvusd.org

Napa Valley Language Academy
Franklin Hernandez
Coordinator
fhernandez@nvusd.org
 

Redwood
Melinda Basore
Coordinator
mbasore@nvusd.org
 

Vintage
Lotte Cosca
Coordinator
lcosca@nvusd.org

 

Shearer
Arizbeth Corro
Coordinator
acorro@nvusd.org
 

Silverado  
Molly Segui
Coordinator
msegui@nvusd.org

 
 

Snow
Erica Gysbers
Coordinator
egysbers@nvusd.org

   
 

West Park
Amy Stark
Coordinator
astark@nvusd.org
 

   
 

Yountville
Rachael Peterson
Coordinator
rachael_peterson@nvusd.org

   

twitter